What I learned about writing from NaNoWriMo

So, it’s been a little over a week since NaNoWriMo’s end, and I’ve had a little time to relax and digest. I’m happy to report that I did indeed win NaNoWriMo this year (Finally!). Haven’t quite finished my first draft though, so I have something to do over the holidays.

It was hard. Especially with school throwing finals and essays at me. More than once I thought I wasn’t going to make it, but man it feels good. A shout-out to I.K. Lore as well, since she pretty much won in my book =)

I knew that doing this was going to put everything I have learned about writing to the test, and I was certain to learn more throughout the month as well. And I did. What surprised me a little though, was how much I learned about the flaws in my writing. NaNoWriMo essentially pointed out to me where my weaknesses lie.

Of course, I’m sure everyone who has attempted NaNoWriMo knows that the quality of writing produced varies. Mine is most certainly atrocious, but looking back I can see where I struggled most, and where I’ve repeated my mistakes. It gives me something of a guide for where to start when I edit, where to improve first instead of trying to tackle everything at once. I won’t bother going over them here (There are just too many to list!). Maybe in another post, haha.

So there you have it. Despite the insanity that is National Novel Writing Month,  it is such a rewarding experience in so many ways. I encourage all of you reading this post to try it at least once. You won’t regret it, I promise.

– A. R.

One thought on “What I learned about writing from NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

